OSA Pyramid For Play

The Pyramid for Play in Ontario is a hierarchy of leagues structured in such a way as to provide opportunities for every player to play soccer at a level appropriate to his/her skill and ability.

The mission of the OSA Pyramid for Play
  • To ensure that the player is the number one priority and has the opportunity to play at a level appropriate to his or her skill and ability.
  • To recognize the Club as the main vehicle for the provision of opportunities for the player and to safeguard its needs and interests with respect to the Pyramid of Play.
  • To clearly establish the principle that the most productive environment for every player at every level of play, from mini-soccer to international competition, is to play in a balanced league.
  • To provide a stable organizational structure to ensure the ongoing viability of Teams, Clubs, and Leagues.

How the OSA Pyramid for Play is implemented

The highest part of the youth pyramid is the Ontario Youth Soccer League, where the best teams from the province compete. Typically each division is made up of 10 teams playing 18 games.

Below the OYSL are four Level 3 Regional Leagues, the East Region Soccer League is one of these leagues.  The others are from the West, Central, and the South Regions of the province.

At the end of the 2009 playing season and every playing season thereafter, and except as indicated in OSA Policy and, four clubs from the Youth Provincial League shall be relegated directly into the most appropriate Youth Regional (L3) League(s).

Below the ERSL L3 League is the ERSL L4 League. Promotion and relegation will take place between the Level 4 and the Level 3 Leagues.  Below the ERSL L4 League is the District Competitive League. Promotion and relegation also takes place between the District Competitive and L4 League.

© 2015, ERSL  | privacy
 | Forgot password?